The Divide Between Survivalists.

Argue

The divide between those who talk the talk and those who walk the walk.

I find there are two kinds of self-reliant people these days.  Those who’ve actually lived and worked in those 3rd world (SHTF) environments and those who have not.

However, those who haven’t had practical experience, still do everything they can to try prepare for such an environment.

They just lack that practical experience.

bull

I feel both groups can learn from each other.

Being one who has lived and worked in these 3rd world environments, I can say there is absolutely no substitute for real world, hands on experience.  Some things just cannot be taught in the classroom.

I think the divide amongst the two groups is this.

The actual experienced group realizes that your Mindset, Ingenuity and Resourcefulness are what really matters when you’re faced with SHTF challenges in life. Their way is a philosophy of “adapt to” and “flow” with the new culture and environment.

Those who’ve not been challenged in those real world SHTF environments rely on Guns, Gear and Talking Points from their favorite Prepper/Survivalist bolg or youtube channel.  Their way is to bunker-in.  To “isolate themselves” and “fight against” the change in culture and new environment.

Groups that don’t allow new ideas into their organization and push back against the social structure they live in always seems to have a negative outcome.  When your 1st World environment changes to a 3rd World one, fighting against it may not help your survivability factor.

Answer this question.

If you were going to be dropped into an alien (3rd world) environment, who would you want with you?

Someone who has a theory about how to survive in that environment but has never been in that environment or someone who has lived in that environment before?

I conclude my book “The SHTF Art of War” with the following;

In a disaster of any kind, our ego is our enemy.  Be honest about your limitations and don’t take unnecessary chances.  I believe there are things we can change and things we cannot.  Situations we can prepare for and situations we can’t expect.  There are just some situations we can’t possibly foresee.

Your greatest survival weapons will be your adaptability and how fast you can react. 

Do the best you can to be reactive to the environment and flow with the situations you encounter.  You can start training your mind now by replacing the words “How can I” whenever you want to say “I can’t”.

If you haven’t read “The SHTF Art of War” yet, fear not. You can get it immediately with no waiting on KINDLE.

Art of War Covera 1a1

buy-now-button

facebt-youtube

3 thoughts on “The Divide Between Survivalists.

  1. My husband said for a while there that he felt I was not calm under pressure and he didn’t think I could handle some kind of SHTF situation.
    NEITHER of us have ever been in a SHTF situation, mind you. But when we were much younger and he’d gotten into a bar fight, I helped him in that bar fight, and later, when we had to run from the friends of the guy he’d been fighting, I kept up with him, and kept ahead of our assailants. I also hid very well (when I couldn’t continue at their speed anymore).
    When after that, those guys caught him, slashed him with a hatchet and no one knew where he was? When me and his siblings found out what happened, his sister passed out and his brother sat there in shock, not speaking. I found a way for us to get to the hospital, I’m the one that snuck into the back of ER to see where he was and I was the one who found him. NO CRYING FROM ME (until I saw him — lots of blood, so… yeah, I cried).
    I was in Manhattan during 9-11. That was before I’d EVER heard of prepping or survivalism. My sister and I did well for three days. Our initial reactions were well done — the buildings hadnt even fallen before we had our shoes on, went to the bank and withdrew as much as the ATM would let us take, and to the grocery store to get food and a can opener (because no one knew what was going to happen next). Stores and banks and businesses didn’t open for like 4 or 5 days after that.
    I was living in Brooklyn during that east coast black out. I had to walk from Lower Manhattan all the way to Crown Heights Brooklyn. I had on heels, because I worked in an office — but guess who had sneakers in her bag just in case? Me. And before I hit Brooklyn bridge I BOUGHT WATER.
    By the time I got near my home water was $5 a bottle, and slippers were even more than they’d been before.
    … when my then-5 year old daughter got burned by a firecracker, I was the one calm and tending to her, and not freaking out on her, not crying. I was the one that cleaned her wound and put an ice pack on it with some honey.
    …when HE fell off his motorcycle and he almost killed himself and no one could find him into the night, I didn’t cry. I went into action, I called hospitals and I called jails (you never know when someone will land in jail for something lol). When they sent him home with a shattered pelvis and a fractured clavicle (and huge scrapes), I was calm, I cared for him. I slept lightly, any move he made I woke up and helped him.
    AND IM NOT CALM UNDER PRESSURE. DUDE. I have to conclude that I am PRETTY DANG CALM.
    …I’ll buy your book when I have some more cash I look forward to reading it, though. Thanks for writing it, and thanks for reading this.

    • First off, I want to thank you for taking the time to comment and share your stories. If I had a survival group, I’d most defiantly want you in my community.
      There’s a great book out there called “The Unthinkable: Who Survives When Disaster Strikes – and Why “ written by Amanda Ripley.

      Ripley, an award-winning writer on homeland security for Time, offers a compelling look at instinct and disaster response as she explores the psychology of fear and how it can save or destroy us. Surprisingly, she reports, mass panic is rare, and an understanding of the dynamics of crowds can help prevent a stampede, while a well-trained crew can get passengers quickly but calmly off a crashed plane. Using interviews with survivors of hotel fires, hostage situations, plane crashes and, 9/11, Ripley takes readers through the three stages of reaction to calamity: disbelief, deliberation and action. The average person slows down, spending valuable minutes to gather belongings and check in with others. The human tendency to stay in groups can make evacuation take much longer than experts estimate. Official policy based on inaccurate assumptions can also put people in danger; even after 9/11, Ripley says, the requirement for evacuation drills on office buildings is inadequate. Ripley’s in-depth look at the psychology of disaster response, alongside survivors’ accounts, makes for gripping reading, sure to raise debate as well as our awareness of a life-and-death issue.
      Amanda says in her book that no one can know what their disaster personality is until we are faced with a disaster. You however, do know what your disaster personality is.

      It’s one we all wish we had.

      I’ve sent you a kindle version of my book “The SHTF Art of War.” It should arrive in your email today.
      If you don’t have a kindle, fear not. You can download for free an e-reader from Amazon.
      I’ve provided the link below.
      http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html/ref=kcp_pc_mkt_lnd?docId=1000426311

      Thanks again and I wish you and your family well.

  2. “… ‘adapt to’ and ‘flow’ with the new culture…” I can appreciate that, I think. It’s a whole nother dynamic; less-obvious, less-Hollywood. Thank you.
    One of the things I remember most reading way-back-when about buggin-out, (wanted to mention this somewhere tonight), is the effect of specifically a woman’s attire on making a first-impression in a new place. (Not that I plan on buggin-out any more; just sayin’.)

Leave a Reply

