The Perfect Survival Knife.

My “Go-To” Knife.

Knives are a very hotly debated topic!  Especially the debates on the so called tactical knives.

Hunters and gatherers have had a personal opinion about which cutting instrument is best since the first flake was chipped off an obsidian stone.

stone

After all, the knife was the tool that allowed us to climb quite a few links up the “food chain”.

I’m not going to debate which knife is best.  That’s entirely a matter of personal preference based on lifestyle and occupation.  If you want that sort of thing, there are plenty of knife forums on the web to keep you reading for the rest of your life.  Probably 2 or 3 lifetimes.

This writing is about what knife I find I most carry.

I have found my go-to “Goldilocks” knife has been my Cold Steel, Hold Out 2.

holdout2

Goldilocks, meaning it’s not too small and not too big.

In my experience, you need to be able to get a lot of grip (real-estate) on a knife handle to actually do knife chores with it.  This knife offers that.

Small knives are fine when you’re out and about at some fancy shin-dig with your lady friend and don’t expect to need a big blade.  However, for everyday man work in the working world, a knife needs to be relied upon to handle some tough duty.  Sometimes that duty may require the blade to go above and beyond its call.

The Cold Steel Hold Out 2 is a very solid knife.  The “Tri-Ad” lock has no play (wiggle) after 2 years of heavy use.  I’m an avid hunter and outdoors-man and this knife is a constant companion.  This knife sees plenty of field use.

The knife sports a 4 inch blade and an overall length of 9 inches.  I find 4 inches of blade seems to be just the right length for just about any knife job I run into.  If I run into a job that’s bigger I go get my axe or machete.

I’m also not a big fan of serrations on a blade.

A word about the AUE-8 Steel that this knife is made out of.  It works.

I’m not a knife maker or metallurgist.  I’m a regular fella that likes a knife to cut what I want it to cut.  I keep things simple.  Sure, I agree, there’s better steel out there for a knife blade than AUE-8.

However!  I think the first rule of owning a knife should be to learn how to sharpen that knife on a stone.  I believe this is a skill that’s not being passed down.  If you own a knife you should know how to sharpen it on a stone.

I think too many people buy a knife that’s sharp right out of the box and use it until it’s dull. They then get one of those cheap little knife sharpeners that you pull the blade through and screw up the angle of the cutting edge.  They then complain that the blade won’t hold an edge.

Learn how to sharpen a knife.  Don’t be afraid of looking bad when you’re learning something new.  Just like learning how to ride bike for the first time, no-one looks good learning something new.

I’ve always said that in life all you need is a good knife and a good plan, however, there’s no substitute for knowledge as well.

So obtain the best knife you can afford.  Keep it sharp and carry the damn thing.

If you haven’t read “The SHTF Art of War” yet, and want to know how important your knife will become when the lights go out, fear not. You can get it immediately with no waiting on KINDLE.

Just click the image below.

Art of War Covera 1a1

P.S.  I am a self diagnosed “knife-oh-holic” and would love to hear from others about what blade they find to be their “Go-to” blade.

2 thoughts on “The Perfect Survival Knife.

    • Thanks for taking the time to comment. I’m a “knife-oh-holic” and would carry a different one for every day of the week if I could. I think a quest for that perfect knife is a lifelong search. While my cold steel knife has been my constant companion all this time, I don’t consider it the best knife. I always have my eye out for that perfect knife. It’s like that song by Stephen Stills, “If you can’t love the one you want, love the one your with.” I hope you find you soul-knife soon.

Leave a Reply

