You’re Not a Grey Man.

Here’s how I spot the failed grey man.

para
Those idiotic para-cord bracelets.

dont

A hat with velcro patching.

boot

Mil-spec boots.
knifeclip
A knife clipped to the pant’s pocket.
she
A shemagh. (you might also be a hipster)
gshok
A dive watch that you think a Navy SEAL would wear.
tread
Anything that says “Don’t Tread on Me.”
oak
Oakley sunglasses.
511
And the biggest give away is if you’re wearing anything from the 5.11 tuxedo collection.  If you’re wearing 5.11 attire, that tells me you’re a cop or some kind of wanna-be cop or contractor wanna-be.
What does all this mean to me?  It means if I spot these telltale signs of tactical-ness, I put you into three categories.
  1. A cop or worse yet a young cop.
  2. A Dueshbag wanna-be cop or blackwater wanna-be contractor who spends too much time on youtube watching gun videos.
  3. A Military serviceman who hasn’t been taught how to be low profile when off duty.
My situational awareness radar has a default setting that red flags and lumps anyone wearing this tacti-cool garb into the category of “moron-with-a-gun” until proven otherwise.

Depending on the scenario, you offer me these assets and liabilities.

You’re the idiot that’ll pull a gun at the wrong time and make a bad situation worse at 200 mph.
Or the bad guy will recognize these failed grey-man clues and shoot you first.
The plus side of that is that you’ll put a spot light on where the bad guys should shoot and buy me time to exit the kill zone.
Don’t get me wrong here.  I like the rule of law and the men and women who bravely enforce it.  I’m pro 2nd amendment and absolutely for an armed citizenry.

barny

My concern is that the majority of gun carrying Americans do not have the training to engage bad guys effectively.  I hope and pray that if I find myself in an environment where armed resistance is needed to stop evil, that whoever pulls a gun that day, can perform that task with professional skills and confidence.
However the reality is that the odds are against that actually happening and so for now, I’ll be looking out for number one.

It pays to be the smartest guy in the room.

If you haven’t read “The SHTF Art of War” yet, fear not.  You can get it immediately with no waiting on KINDLE or get it in a popular EMP resistant print copy.

Art Of War

buy

Leave a Reply

